Grandma Mena

For the next month or so I will be posting appreciation posts for the people who are important to me, in no particular order, and who I am grateful for. So, let’s begin.

This is my grandmother, the mother of my mother. She passed away when I was 2. Though I was very young, losing her has been painful. I remember the day she passed so vividly it hurts. I thank God for the time I was able to spend with her. I appreciate the stories I’ve heard of her. Growing up without a grandmother has been hard. Not being able to have that experience, not being able to really know her and build a special bond with her.. I hate to be selfish but I wish God allowed me to have a grandmother a little while longer. She was only 51 so I can’t help but think why did she have to go so soon? I keep one of my favorite pictures of her with me everyday. I thank her for giving me my mom and I thank her for marrying my grandpa Posi and also for allowing my grandpa Leo to be apart of my life and my siblings’ lives. Her grave is in Oregon so we don’t get to visit as often as we use to but when we do visit, I always feel so overwhelmed with sadness that I can’t speak. Grandma I love you and I can’t wait to meet you again in the afterlife. I will keep you in my heart until that sweet, sweet day we meet again. 

Alofa atu, 

-T 

Leave a Reply

